2015 Jim C. Coleman Community Service Award

Jim C. Coleman Community Service Award

Shortly after revitalization in 1994, one of the very first major projects the Edmonton-Metcalfe County Chamber of Commerce established was a community service award. After some investigation it was learned that most communities bestowed some type of annual award on at least one of its deserving citizens.


After much deliberation, the chamber board of directors at that time, decided to establish the Jim C. Coleman Community Service Award to honor a Metcalfe County person who closely exemplified the service orientation of the late Jim C. Coleman.


It is thought that Jim Coleman would have been delighted to have the late Father George K. Bowling to receive the very first award named in his memory.


Several noteworthy community leaders who received this award such as Ruth Ennis, Judge Cass Walden, Nell Van Zant, Dr. Hays and Kenneth Branstetter are no longer with us physically but their influence and inspiration will linger always. Others such as recipients Lucy Forbes, Jeannie Spears, Virginia Janes, Kathy Frick, Royce Smith, Wendell Stephens,   Mary Shive , Charlotte Atkins, Judy “Jessie” Crabtree, Freeda Reece, Ruth Butler, Barbara Branstetter and Judge Tom Emberton continue to leave an indelible mark on this community. Their volunteerism and service are an example for younger Metcalfe County Residents to emulate.


This year marks the 21st consecutive year the Edmonton-Metcalfe County Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations from the public for this prestigious award. A ballot containing all nominee application forms will be presented at the November 17th Chamber of Commerce meeting for those in attendees to vote for the 2014 recipient. A Chamber Coleman Award Selection Committee will choose the 21st Annual Jim C. Coleman Community Service Award Winner from the top three vote getters at the November meeting.


One does not have to be a member of the Edmonton-Metcalfe County Chamber of Commerce to nominate a person for this award.   One may use the nomination form at the end of this article or stop by the chamber office to pick up an application. Nominations will be accepted until Friday, November 6th at noon.


2015 award coleman nomination form